South Africa's headquarter regime

June 10-11, 2014



Headquarter company regime – at a glance

- Intended to serve as investment gateway in Africa/rest of the world
- South African tax resident company
- Regarded as non-resident for exchange control, can borrow freely from offshore
- Reserve bank reporting
- Min 10% shareholder interest
- 80% of assets to be foreign investments

Headquarter company regime – at a glance Tax related



Headquarter company regime – at a glance Exchange control related



South African tax system – at a glance Tax related



Summary of South Africa tax system (example for companies)

- Corporate tax rate 28% on world wide income (capital gains tax effective rate: 18.65%)
- Dividends tax 15% (but a headquarter company is exempt)
- Royalty withholding tax 12% (to be increased to 15% effective 1 January 2015) – certain exclusions for headquarter companies
- Interest withholding tax 15% effective 1 January 2015 certain exclusions for headquarter companies
- Withholding tax on services 15% effective 1 January 2016
- Value-added tax (14%: standard rate, also 0% e.g., exports or exempt for activities that are financial services e.g., provide credit)

Double taxation agreements

South Africa with rest of Africa (in force)

- Algeria
- Botswana
- DRC
- Egypt
- Ethiopia
- Ghana
- Lesotho
- Malawi
- Mauritius
- Mozambique
- Namibia

- Nigeria
- Rwanda
- Seychelles
- Sierra Leone
- Swaziland
- Tanzania
- Tunisia
- Uganda
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe

Double taxation agreements

South Africa with rest of Africa (in progress)

- Cameroon
- Gabon
- Kenya
- Morocco
- Senegal
- Sudan



Double taxation agreements

South Africa with rest of the world

- Australia
- Austria
- Belarus
- Belgium
- Brazil
- Bulgaria
- Canada
- China
- Croatia
- Cyprus
- Czech Republic
- Denmark
- Finland
- France

- Germany
 - Greece
- Grenada
- Hungary
- India
- Indonesia
- Iran
- Ireland
 - Israel
 - Italy
- Japan
- Korea
- Kuwait
- Luxembourg

- Malaysia
- Malta
- Mexico
- Netherlands
- New Zealand
- Norway
- Oman
- Pakistan
- Poland
- Portugal
- Romania
- Russian Federation
- Saudi Arabia

- Singapore
- Slovak Republic
- Spain
- Sweden
- Switzerland
 - Taiwan
- Thailand
- Turkey
- Ukraine
- United Kingdom
- **USA**